Dress Up In You

It is a truth, universally acknowledged that being young involves angst. I don’t mean a child, being a child is brilliant, but from the ages of about 13 to 30 most people seem to spend quite a bit of time worrying. Most particularly worrying about clothes. 

As a teenager, you get to try on identities. I spent a few years as a goth, brightened up again, emerged out into the phenomenal boredom of being broke and then ambled off in a more interesting direction again. I think most people would describe my current sense of style as “erm?”.

I worry though, that i’m boring. I feel that the day I go around constantly in plain tops and cardigans with sensible shoes and a mid length bob will be the death of me. (Figuratively speaking). I’m not particularly a fashonista, I like looking at the pretty pictures. Kingdom of Style is a personal favourite, but i’m not that fussed. 

Often, I wear stompy boots. Nothing makes an outfit interesting more rapidly. 

I don’t think it helps that i haven’t bought new clothes in a while, it’s easy to feel bored when you’ve been wearing the same things constantly for a few years. But maybe that’s just me again. Who knows? 

This blog from Timoni got me thinking, as did The Uniform Project. Both of these are interesting ideas, I agree with the idea of basic outfits. I’ve got a few “go-to” type combinations. Stripey teeshirt and jeans, purple dress with leopard print cardi, floral dress with under shirt. But I don’t really have enough of a “uniform” per-say to settle into one thing. Plus, I actually quite enjoy thinking about clothes and what i’m going to wear. 

Who am I going to be today? Am I going to be that cool bohemian girl on the train whom you sort of admire for the ballsy clashing colours even though technicially she’s dressed like a twat? Maybe i’m going to be sleek and grown up in smart jeans and a blazer. Perhaps i’ll be casual and practical in jeans and a teeshirt. I like playing with that. It’s like power dressing but for daily life. Wear what makes you feel like you can take over the world. Or perhaps you’d rather just snuggle up into that jumper that feels like a cuddle and protect yourself from the outside world? 

Clothes are brilliant like that. 

I think that’s what those 17 years are spent learning. That you don’t have to permanently dress in one style if you don’t want to. You can be smart one day, boring the next or outlandish the day after that if you want. Or you don’t have to. 

Some people learn this faster. They are the kind of people who joke about being old before their time, but not in a bad way. The people whom are complimented on their maturity and conversational skills. Some people don’t, but that’s okay too. They’re fun, they’re living their lives, being the age they should be. Some people just don’t care. I envy those people. 

 

About howlieT

Verbose, queer 20 something, likes cats, works in theater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

